Conventional Housing
Section 8
How to Apply?
Home Ownership

Mission Statement

To provide affordable housing, free from discrimination through Project Based Management.  (Project Based Management is the provision of property management services that considers the unique needs of each property, given the resources available to that property).

About Us

The Housing Authority of Florence (HAF) provides low and moderate income housing to the people in the Florence, South Carolina area.  The Housing Authority of Florence is committed to providing quality, affordable housing in healthy neighborhoods through partnerships with our residents and other groups, fostering neighborhood redevelopment and opportunities for those we serve to achieve self-sufficiency.

The Housing Authority of Florence receives funding through the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) to administer the Section 8 and Public Housing Programs, as well as 202, 515 and Tax Credit Property.

Employing approximately 65 individuals, the Housing Authority Florence contributes to the City of Florence through our employment base, infusion of over 9.6 million dollars annually into the local economy, through payroll, development of new housing, and payments in lieu of taxes.

Managing Agent For:

  • Housing Authority of Cheraw
  • Housing & Community Redevelopment Authority of Marlboro County (Including Dillon County).
  • Housing Authority of McColl

Florence Office Hours:
8:00am – 5:00pm           Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday
8:00am – 11:00am         Wednesday
Closed:                          Friday - Sunday



Board of Commissioners

The Housing Authority’s Board of Commissioners has the responsibility to set the policies to be administered by the Executive Director.

Decisions regarding the Housing Authority are made at a public meeting.  Mayor and Council Members make the appointments of the Board Members


Housing Authority of Florence Board Members:
1. Linda Becote  (Chairman)
2. John R. Etheridge III (Vice-Chairman)
3. Felicia Smith  (Member)
4. Vanessa Murray (Member)
5. Douglas Hawkins (Member)


Housing Authority of Cheraw Board Members:
1. Charlie Benton  (Chairman)
2. Sarah Ann Thompson (Vice Chairman)
3. Virginia Lisenby (Member)
4. Damien Shields (Member)
5. Odessa Jackson (Member)


Housing & Community Redevelopment Authority of Marlboro County Board Members:
1. Ronald King (Chairman)
2. Bobbie Jo Grooms  (Vice Chairman)
3. William Simon  (Member)
4. Claudette Hooker (Member)
5. B.H. Guinn (Member)


Housing Authority of McColl Board Members:
1. Anthony Bollinger      (Chairman)
2. Lee Price  (Member)
3. Bill Gibson Jr.  (Member)
4. Harry Benjamin (Member)
5. William “Bill” McGuire (Member)





Home Contact Us Locations Public Housing Section 8 How to Apply Home Ownership ©All Rights Reserved 2008